Home > History of Fairfield Grace
From the Fairfield-Grace 1992-1993 Church Directory
The Fairfield Methodist Church was established in June, 1956, meeting in Fairfield Woods Junior High School. The Reverend Arch Tremayne was pastor at the church’s inception until his retirement in September, 1956.Construction began on a new church June 8, 1958. One year later, the “Ground Breaking Ceremony” was held with the congregation marching from the school to the site accompanied by the Fairfield Woods School Band playing “Onward Christian Soldiers.” A Color Guard from Boy Scout Troop #88 led the procession. The Reverend Donald S. Stacey officiated at the ceremony.Grace Methodist Church of Bridgeport joined the Fairfield congregation on May 4, 1958. The name was changed to Fairfield-Grace Methodist Church to reflect our new combined strength. Wesley Methodist Church joined the congregation in 1961.

In 1967 a major addition (the Sanctuary and several Church School Rooms) was completed. The last major undertaking was the addition of the Allen Electronic Organ, dedicated in October 1983.
Fairfield-Grace has been very fortunate in having dedicated clergy and lay people who have given much of their time and monies to help our church grow. This growth in spirit and fellowship was under the guidance of these Pastors:

Senior Pastors
Reverend Arch Tremayne June 1956- Sept 1956
Reverend Donald S. Stacey Sept 1956- 1959
Reverend Ronald S. Law 1959- 1963
Reverend James S. Hood 1963- 1978
Reverend Douglas Osgood 1978- 1984
Reverend Edward Eastman 1984- 1988
Reverend Terry W. Pfeiffer 1988- 1992
Reverend Dr. Arthur McClanahan 1992- May 2005
Reverend Peggy Fabrizio June 2005- June 2008
Reverend Kun Sam Cho July 2008- Present
Associate Pastors
Reverend John L. Waggy, Jr. 1961- 1963
Reverend Louis Leone 1967- 1971
Reverend Dennis Winkleblack 1971- 1974
Reverend David Sworin 1974- 1977
Reverend Thomas Hackett 1977- 1979
Reverend Reggie Roswell 1979- 1981
Reverend Arthur Yost 1981- 1984
Reverend Wayne Lavender 1984- 1986
Reverend Caroly R. Gibson 1986- 1992